GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
But some kinds of work are not regulated. Children of migrant workers, for example, have no legal protection. Farmers may legally employ them outside of school hours. The children pick crops in the fields and move from place to place, so they get little schooling.
Today, throughout the world, around 215 million children work, many full-time. They do not go to school and have little or no time to play. Many do not receive proper nutrition or care. They are denied the chance to be children.
Today, the U.S. freight rail network is widely considered one of the most dynamic freight systems in the world. The $60 billion industry consists of 140,000 rail miles operated by seven Class I railroads  (railroads with operating revenues of $433.2 million or moreExternal Link), 21 regional railroads, and 510 local railroads.
At just over 398 meters (435 yards) long, it's one of the biggest vessels in the world. Standing on its end, it would dwarf the Eiffel Tower.
It's also the biggest container ship ever to dock in a U.S. port.
Built in Shanghai for the French shipping company CMA CGM, the vessel is one of a new generation of mega ships that can carry a staggering 18,000 containers on board.
Your carbon footprint. When we think “carbon footprint,” we generally fast-forward to: walk vs. drive, reusable cloth grocery bags vs. plastic bags, recycling and purchasing carbon offsets, carpooling, etc. Reducing ones carbon footprint has become a constant concern for many. But there’s another “footprint” we don’t often think about that’s just as important to the health of the planet – our ecological footprint.
We want to encourage people to evaluate their carbon footprints
and reduce them to a "sustainable" level. How many
tons of greenhouse gas emissions per person is that? Will require Library Barcode (lunch number!) to access
This article discusses the carbon footprint, or total carbon dioxide output, in the production of a single issue of "Discover Magazine." It includes measurements for the research and writing of the magazine, its printing and distribution, and the papermaking process that precedes printing. The carbon footprints of two "Discover" magazine employees are also discussed.
Together, food and packaging/containers account for almost 45%
of the materials landfilled in the United States, and some of these
discarded materials are food-related packaging and containers. To
reduce food reaching landfills, save money, and help communities, the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency started the Food Recovery
Challenge. The Challenge is part of EPA’s Sustainable Materials
Management Program, which seeks to reduce the environmental
impact of materials through their entire life cycle
Plastics are produced from the waste products of oil refining. An analysis of the life cycle of plastic bags includes consideration of the environmental impacts associated with the extraction of oil, the separation of products in the refining process, and the manufacturing of plastics.
Plastic is found in virtually everything these days. Your food and hygiene products are packaged in it. Your car, phone and computer are made from it. And you might even chew on it daily in the form of gum. While most plastics are touted as recyclable, the reality is that they're “downcycled.” A plastic milk carton can never be recycled into another carton — it can be made into a lower-quality item like plastic lumber, which can’t be recycled.
The article reports on the method developed by chemists at the Stanford University in California for the recycling of plastic bottles without leaving carbon footprint by using carbon dioxide and furfural, a compound from corn harvest waste. Requires Library Barcode.
Take one example: sugar. About half of America's sugar comes from sugar cane, and half from sugar beets. They grow in completely different climates. Sugar cane is a tropical crop, and sugar beets grow where it's colder and dryer.
Each one has an impact on the environment — sometimes a dramatic impact — but in very different ways.
Sugarcane is a water-intensive crop that remains in the soil all year long. As one of the world’s thirstiest crops, sugarcane has a significant impact on many environmentally sensitive regions, like the Mekong Delta and the Atlantic Forest. Historic planting of sugarcane around the world has led to significant impacts on biodiversity.
Coffee is produced both on large plantations and by small farmers. Typically, Fair Trade farmers cultivate less than 3 hectares of coffee and harvest 1,000-3,000 pounds of unroasted coffee a year. Small farmers are perhaps more aptly defined by those farmers who rely principally on their own families' labor.
First, look for coffee beans that are organically grown. Usually this means that coffee is produced without using artificial pesticides or herbicides. This ensures that pollution from wastewater and fertilizers is minimized and soil erosion is decreased because native forests are kept intact.
Forty years ago, almost all coffee was grown under the shade of the rainforest. Now, many coffee farmers have abandoned those techniques for clear-cutting. Host Guy Raz talks to Shalene Jha, a University of California researcher who's studying the environmental benefits of shade-grown coffee.
India is one of the world's biggest tea producers and more than half of the country's production comes from Assam.
Scientists and tea growers in the north-eastern Indian state say temperatures in the region have gone up, dry periods are now longer and rainfall patterns are changing.
Water covers 70% of our planet, and it is easy to think that it will always be plentiful. However, freshwater—the stuff we drink, bathe in, irrigate our farm fields with—is incredibly rare. Only 3% of the world’s water is fresh water, and two-thirds of that is tucked away in frozen glaciers or otherwise unavailable for our use.
Fresh water sustains human life and is vital for human health. There is enough fresh water for everyone on Earth. However, due to bad economics or poor infrastructure, millions of people (most of them children) die from diseases associated with inadequate water supply, sanitation and hygiene. Water scarcity affects more than 40 per cent of the global population and is projected to rise. u
Clean water, basic toilets and good hygiene practices are essential for the survival and development of children. Today, there are around 2.4 billion people who do not use improved sanitation, and 663 million who do not have access to improved water sources.
More heat and drought mean more evaporation and yet more demand for water, adding pressure to tap distant reservoirs at staggering costs or further drain underground aquifers and hasten the city’s collapse.
Clean water is essential for life, but most people in the developed world don't think much about the water they use for drinking, food preparation, and sanitation. In developing nations, however, the search for safe drinking water can be a daily crisis. Millions of people die each year, most of them children, from largely preventable diseases caused by a lack of access to clean water and proper sanitation.